Monday, August 17, 2009

De-Nile is more than a river in Eygpt


Ok so my last post quit drinking etc.....ummm yeah not so much. Two days later my Mom handed me a Mai Tai and said come over to the Darkside with me, I had two that's it. But that's my family for you. I have since had drinks in moderation and some nights not so moderately, I am more aware of what I am drinking after all I am not 19 anymore, but I am drinking, so no wagon riding for me yet.
But enough about me, oh wait I want to talk more about me. August; I hate August it is my hibernating, waiting, shedding of skin, hot sweaty, without work, Florida Arts School leaking, hurricany (shut-up it's a word), introspective, poor month Every year!
Ok I teach dance and it is kind of a school year track so I teach Sept-Juneish and do summer camps June-July and then I have 3 weeks of just a few nights of teaching while I wait for the year to start. I always plan to look for new music, clean out closets, work on art for my children's book, plan projects for the coming year and get more work than I could ever possibly accomplish in the coming cycle. Nope, just overslept, watched hulu, meandered on the web ( didn't even update my website) and got depressed, this of course is me going through the 'stages' and I will get so sick of myself I will work and get stuff done in spite of myself, but for some reason I must go through this depressive, sleepy LAZY stage first. It feels like it has been all the time in the world I have lounged lackadaisically but it's really only been 5 days and I actually have places to be and things will get done this coming week, I suppose it is necessary and and act of growth, but I always feel guilty about it. Oh well my advice to myself? Get over it!
Just remember where ever you go there you are.
Side Note: love the pic, found it on another blog and do not know who to give credit if someone knows let me know and I will be happy to credit him/her/it

Saturday, July 18, 2009

Tales of a Binge Drinker


OK so the truth is I have been a binge drinker for the better part of a decade. Not everyday, maybe not even every week but pretty much bi-weekly for nearly 10 yrs. When I drink I don't have a few cocktails, it more like a few bottles and throw in a pack of cigarettes ( lovely). I used to have an incredible tolerance thanks to my parents drinking lineage (yup, u guessed we have some irish in us...eeeww get your mind out of the gutter).
So I have never thought this to be a problem until about the past year. The truth is my tolerance is not what it once was and although I drink mostly wine now & I'm not doing keg stands (actually I never did keg stands but straight vodka was my poison of choice) it somehow has stopped being fun. I think the universe has been trying to tell me to quit for awhile now.

1) Busch Gardens stopped serving complimentary beer for the first time ever

Ok I hear ya, who do I think I am. But here's the deal I found out I have celiac disease a little over a year ago (it means I can't have gluten which is a byproduct of processed grains, i.e. bread, pasta, cake, cookies, pretzels and beer a.k.a as all the good stuff) so I really needed to give up beer and was pretty successful except when we went to Busch Gardens, we have passes so that's pretty often. And then they stopped serving it and I was saved yeah!! there was much rejoicing.

2) I need to lose weight

this sounds superficial I know, but I am still battling the weight I put on with the celiac I was so tired all the time and my body just couldn't process the poison (all the good stuff) I was putting in my body. And alcohol is the next thing which needs to go

3) I've already given it up

Yup the beginning of this year I went the first two months sans alcohol. It was hard b/c we live in the land of permanent spring break (FL) and you are kind of expected to drink everywhere, people looked at me like a crazy person when I said I wasn't drinking. (there is a lot worse drinking here than my once weekly or once every other weekly habit, which is why it is so easy to excuse my behaviour)

4) I want to quit smoking

There I said it, when I quit drinking I got down to 8 cigs a week. When I drink having a cig in my hand is such a habit.

5) Last month I got dosed at the Casino

Yup someone slipped something into one of my drinks about a month ago, fortunately I was with my boyfriend who saved me from a night which I don't remember after a certain point. I hear you saying yeah it's a blackout from drinking. But you see I am one of those rare creatures who gets to remember and re-live each and every embarrassing moment from a night of imbibing and also the sugar of alcohol gives me more energy as the night progresses (more energy not more sense) so I don't pass out, nope I just rage on. So yes I know I was drugged and that scared the beegeesus out of me.

6) Last night I fell off the stairs

Yeah not down, off and to the side. I did this b/c I had already twisted my ankle (heels and wine do not mix, but I just love dressing up and drinking) and in my ridiculous heels shifted my weight and fell 'off' the stairs. I now have a twisted left ankle, contusions (I always wanted to use that word hehe) and bloody bruises on my left leg, a lovely 4 inch wide scratch down my right calf and my right arm is either sprained or I have bruised the bone at the elbow, either way it hurts like a mother( yeah not funny) And I am a choreographer for a living , great.

7) My luck has run out

I believe you can only push the fates so far before they push back. I have been incredibly lucky to not have something truly heinous happen to me. So I don't think I am going to push my luck anymore. This is my official resignation from drinking I will need your help to keep me accountable so I will blog about my journey, but from here on out I QUIT.

A former binge drinker

Saturday, May 30, 2009

Southern Sayings....Made up

I find most southern sayings utterly ridiculous, my Mom is from South Carolina and I Have family All over the South East. B/c I find such things laughable I deceided to start making up my own "Southern Sayings, Make sure you say each of these out loud with a southern accent

1) "Snoring like a tree frog with a head cold" or alt "Snoring louder than a tree frog with a head cold"
Use in sentence "Jimmy-Bobby kept me up all night, Sum of a bitch, he was snoring louder than a tree frog with a head cold." ( note I did write Sum not Son read it out loud like a red-neck and you will understand)

2)"Hotter than a grease fire in hell" Alt " Hotter than the devils ass after Nachos."
Use in Sentence "Mary-lou was determined to have her weddin' in July cuz she likes the fire works, but Lordy it was hotter than a grease fire in hell."

3) "Drunker than a worm in tequila" Alt " drunkoeri dan one of dos wormsss in zz Tequilaas"
Use in Sentence "Yeah I took her home Lord knows she was drunker than a worm in tequila."

4)"Emptier than a cardboard box in the trash" Alt "Emptier than a bottle of Jack Daniels at a highschool prom"
Use in Sentence "I don't know why she ran around naked in the chuch singing 'Jesus loves me...' Lord knows her heads emptier than a bottle of Jack Daniels at a highschool prom."

5) And my favorite "Dirtier than a french whore on Bastille Day."
Use in Sentence
"She's a perfectly nice girl but bless her heart she's dirtier than a french whore on Bastille Day."

Well those are a few, I hope you enjoyed and feel free to add your own in the comments : )
Be kind rewind - Meg Boone

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

To Blog or Not to Blog that is the question... I am trying to adapt and use this amazing new technology, Twitter, FaceBook , Myspace, Reddit, Friendfeed, Twitterfeed, Blogger, My website, Youtube, Dilgo, bzzter, Blip.fm and everytime I start to try to connect it; all I do is join a new group with no friends and a burning desire to get people to listen to my non-sensical and really basically meaningless stumbled upon websites, song choices and rantings. Although I find myself utterly entertaining and continue to maintain it's for the 'good of my career' I think I just like the sound of my own typing : )
So I am going to go with the template on this blog and my other blog I think I am going to stick with my painstaking RSS and HTML design, flaws and all. And we will see if it crumbles with the test of time or just floats out in cyberspace until it's obseletion becomes complete. No one can hear you scream in space. But I'll keep yelling anyway.