
Although I see the VMAs are getting a lot of flack internet buzz wise. I must disagree, I throughly enjoyed thema nd after all isn't it all about entertainment? First of all did anyone see last years show? Celebrities sweating it out in Miami, with a definite rap dominance, Green Day being their only rock/slightly sell out punk influence, and it being serious complaint rock not really representing skinny-scraggly-haired-eyemakeup-wearing- musicans everywhere. This years VMAs being back home in good old NYC, Kurt loder wearing his blazer in cool been here done this indifference rather then sweating and squinting in abject horror like last year. So in comparison this years was spectacular spectacular.
Ok, I have been to radio city music hall a number of times as I am sure many of you have, and the theater was hardly recognizable, yes they bring up a skating rink and live camels in the Christmas spectacular. But this outdoes the rockettes live nativity, with a near reconstruction of the space, runway platforms running throughout the theater, rigged with more visual screens than a britney spears concert. Not only that it was all used well with excellent camera placement, utilizing great shots and creative angles, every screen in the house was timed per presenter and performer. My hats off to the graphic designers artwork remaining orginal throughout the three hour show a feat in and of itself. On screen breathtaking I am sure in person overwhelming.
OVERALL:
Best peformance of the evening in my opinion : Panic at the Disco, with the now oh so fashionable victorian punk look a great song, staging and yes even choreography. Justin Timberlake remained consistent in his quality of work and an artist I am not fond of surprised me with her showmanship: Beyonce, the choreography ( as we know the most important feature to me) was excellent. And Ok Go with a live rendition of their tredmill dance, and proof of the power of the internet (having published their infamous tredmill dance online and really reaching a worldwide audience). Other than Big Brothers now 6sec delay on "LIVE" performances (instituded after the 'revealing' Janet Jackson superbowl show.) resulting in some blips and trips in the feed as musican/artists were using their artistic rights. And the oft commented on 'hidden cameras' placed randomly throughout the theater trying to give a real life show and performance even more of a reality TV feel, WHY?. Still it was spectacular spectacular.
GIN AND JUICE, ANYONE?
I am all for a beverage especially at event time, but out of a plastic cup? I mean these people are superstars and I refuse to drink out of plastic cups unless of course it has been sneaked into a college football game b/c that is the way it is supposed to be. But onstage presenting at the VMAs?! Snoop Dog and AAR (all american rejects) both were imbibing while on stage out of plastic. Snoop what happened to your Pimp Goblet?
STUPID GIRLS
Pink was shocked by her win for her video for stupid girls, however I wonder if she was surprised she won or that someone found the irony in having Nicole Ritche present the award to her. After all she is one of those "Stupid girls".
JARED LETO, HUH?
Ok I understand Jared Leto is no longer just an actor he is doing the whole music thing now, however while PANIC at the disco makes the goth alice in wonderland thing cool. Jared LEto just looks like her read one too many Anne Rice novels while listening to too much New Wave. Sorry Jared loved you in Fight Club but not sure about your current wardrobe choices.
So this is just a small amount of the commentary I have for this show, I find celebrity full of humorous undertones and sometimes real talent. Visually, stunning, tightly run and back in NYC. It was entertainment and those that expect something more philisophical out of MTV haven't been paying attention to the fodder they feed our youth to maintain POP culture. As my Man would say, it is what it is.

No comments:
Post a Comment